Update…Bodega Red Potatoes planted!

The organic compost has arrived and now we can begin to plant.

DSCN6281This had really been a long process…getting my garden ready to plant.  Last year I just stuck some plants in the ground. And…they withered and died and said nope…we are not going to do anything in this soil…So I listened…I really want a beautiful garden…so I began on this path…it has been a joy…

DSCN6282So now the planting begins…The cages were made and we buried it in the straw about 2 inches deep. I lined the inside edges with straw to keep the compost inside…

DSCN6285Then I placed 4 of my seed potatoes in the compost. I have 3 more that I am donating to our school garden. I think it is important for them to learn about vegetables that are historically significant to our locale.

DSCN6286Then I covered with more compost…As they grow I will continue to mound the soil around the sprouts…

Potato Love

Gramma! They are in the ground! yay!

This entry was published on April 8, 2013 at 4:04 pm. It’s filed under garden, kitchen garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

